Author Topic: Knowing what you want  (Read 102 times)

Spell Chick

• Kudos: 16
  • Choose well
    • View Profile
Knowing what you want
« on: July 16, 2022, 02:54:10 PM »
Dick and I have been using the Old People's Gym (OPG) for a couple years now. Once the plague closed everything down, I started working out in the garage. I already had some equipment and I have increased the range of crap out there over time. I was using old CrossFit workouts since I have saved every workout I have ever done. So I had years of stuff to pick from.

Craig does personal training and he offered to write my workouts for me. I gave him a list of my equipment so he knew what stuff to use. Eventually, Dick started going out there on his own and then started going out there with me and doing Craig's workouts.

One of the Bluffton fire stations is right outside Sun City, a huge 55 and over community. There are lots and lots of old farts in there who keep falling over and can't get up. The firehouse responds to calls to pick them up off the floor. Craig does not want this to happen to his parents. So we are given workout that will keep us able to get up off the ground if we should fall over and find ourselves trapped by gravity. At least once a week, the workout contains something done on the floor meaning we have to get up from there. We also do lots of bench presses and push ups, both of which will help us get our butts off the floor.

I have been doing this weight stuff for almost ten years now. I'm about 9 years and 11 months in. I like seeing how much weight I can move and how many times I can move it. I like the workouts to be challenging. I don't mind sweating like a pig - although I say I'm glowing instead of dripping wet.

Dick believes that just going out there has already made him successful. Just getting out of his chair and doing something is better than watching TV.